top of page

Shhh! Quiet Zones

Bill Rouse has been in touch with our city council member, Christopher Glover, hoping to find a solution to the frequent early morning train horns as well as expanding the Downtown Buzz bus route to include the new stadium. Here are some of the details of Bill's correspondence.

From Council Member Glover,

“Hi Bill, I reached out to our transit director about the Buzz route. As of right now, the city doesn't have plans to re-route the Buzz to serve Cubs Stadium. The two bus routes closest to serving the stadium are Route 96 (Dobson) and Route 104 (Alma School). But neither of these routes enters Riverview Park to serve the stadium. Passengers on the Buzz can transfer to Route 104 (Alma School) at either University and Alma School or 8th Street and Alma School. Route 104 ends at Bass Pro Drive in Riverview. At that point, they will have to walk to the stadium.

I have asked city staff to see what the cost would be to include the new stadium and depending on the cost we can see if it can be included. I will keep you posted when that analysis has been completed.

In regards to the quiet zone for the railroad, if you would like to come speak when we have the presentation I will make sure to let you know when it will be so you can attend. If there is anything else I can help you with please don't hesitate to let me know.

Best wishes,

Chris Christopher Glover

Council member District 4 City of Mesa”

“Good Afternoon Bill,

I wanted to give you a quick update on where we are in regards to the “Quiet Zones.” The City of Mesa’s Transportation Department has been increasing its knowledge on “Quiet Zones” over the past few months; they have done this by meeting with other municipalities and working with the Federal Railroad Administration (FRA).

Currently, the City of Mesa is working on cost estimates for elements that will help mitigate the FRA’s “Risk Index”, which increases when you implement a “Quiet Zone.”

The Transportation Department is hoping be ready with a formal presentation sometime in March; I will let you know as soon as I get a solid date.

I want you to know that developing “Quiet Zones” throughout the City of Mesa is very important to me and something that I want to see come to fruition.

Once again thank you for your interest and involvement in this process. Please let me know if you have any questions.

Bests Wishes, Chris Christopher Glover

Council member

District 4 City of Mesa”District 4


West 2nd Street Historic District

© 2013 by West 2nd Street Historic District.

bottom of page